Post and Videos on Brachial Stun

I first learned about the brachial stun in talking with a friend who was a former police officer–it was a technique he learned in police academy.  In our Gutterfighting class, we teach the long ax hand technique to the Brachial Plexus Origin, which is a nerve bundle located in the side of the neck comprised of the the median, radial, and ulnar nerves (these travel down and feed into the arm).  LEO’s are usually taught to use softer portions of the arms and hands, as using bony portions of the wrist and arm like we sometimes do with the ax hand, moves into the area of deadly force.  Hitting this nerve bundle really zaps the electrical system, and can cause a stunning affect that could very well cause an adversary to collapse onto the ground.  Having been hit in the Brachial Plexus Origin, I can personally attest to the fact that it really hurts, and I experienced pain and strange electrical pulses up and down my left arm all day long after the fact.

Here is the post with a couple of good videos:

http://tdatraining.blogspot.com/2009/09/top-technique-brachial-stun.html

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for the link. The BS (LOL) is a truly effective technique regardless of the conditioning or size of the recipient.

    Great blog!

    • I totally agree with you. I love this technique. Thanks for the great post–love your blog!

  2. I learned of this technique many years ago and did not believe it. I thought it was mumbo jumbo so I had a friend try it on me. When he hit me it felt like me arm had suddenly gotten shocked. I did not pass out but I felt entire body weakness, not lightheaded but just really weak.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta